Contentment

I just wanted to share this beautiful saying which talks about contentment. It definitely inspires me and I hope it does the same for you.

“No sadness lasts forever, nor any felicity,
Nor any state of poverty or one of luxury.
If you are the owner of a heart that is content,
Then you and the owner of the world are equivalent”
-Imam Al Shafi’ee-

Indeed it really is true. With Allah (SWT) by your side it is very hard to feel that anything is missing in your life. It’s somethign very hard to explain to those who can not feel it. But the closest I can get is that you feel cozy, warm, safe and just plain and simple happy! It’s just pure happiness and contentment. Since completely submitting to Allah (SWT) I’ve had no period of distress or depression. Even if someone hurts me or some situation stresses me, I can easily move on because I know that Allah (SWT) is with me. Through his mercy I have become so happy and content with my life.

Whether in luxury, poverty, sadness or happiness, I believe if you turn to Allah (SWT), he will be there for you. Alhamdulillah! I know he has always been there for me.

I know it’s easier to say ‘be content’ than actually being content with things. But whether you are a Muslim or not, you will find that life is SO much better when you stop wanting more and more and more. I’m not saying that having things is bad but merely that happiness is better. There are so many people around the world who have almost nothing in terms of belongings, food, water, and family. Alhamdulillah, we have been blessed with so much! Why do we seek more? Why can’t we be happy with what we have been given now?

Inshallah I hope that Allah (SWT) allows me to continue being grateful and content with all he has given me. Through his mercy I am trying my best to rid my desire for ‘more’ and lead a simple life. I’m not saying I’m perfect because I do have my moments of weakness (especially when it comes to shoes!) so I hope this post acts as a reminder to myself first and foremost to remain grateful always.

Inshallah I pray that Allah (SWT) helps all my brothers and sisters to achieve contentment within their hearts!

Peace!

Leave a Reply

